Hello Students, Educators, and Parents!

    Thank you for submitting work in the 2023 Scholastic Art & Writing Regional Awards submission! The judges were impressed with student works submitted from our region this year. With over 7,700 Art submissions and over 5,200 Writing submissions, we are grateful for your participation. 

    My name is Lesley Guilmart, and I am the officer of secondary education for Harris County Department of Education. I work closely with Andrea Segraves, and you will continue to see information shared from me. 

    Earning a Scholastic Award is often the first moment of validation for a young artist or writer, which can lead to a lifelong commitment to creative pursuits. Now more than ever, it is important to recognize creative accomplishments and provide students with the support and resources they need. That is why Harris County Department of Education is proud to be associated with the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards program, as it seeks to recognize excellence in student works such as yours.   

    This year’s Regional Scholastic Art award recipients are now available at 2023 Scholastic Regional Winners

    We wish you the best and encourage you to continue to create!

    Lesley Guilmart
    Officer of Secondary Education
    Harris County Department of Education

Contact Us

  • Center for Educator Success
    Harris County Department of Education
    6300 Irvington Blvd.
    Houston, TX 77022
    Phone: 713-696-8223

    Andrea Segraves
    Scholastic Art & Writing Awards Regional Coordinator

    Norma Rodriguez
    Professional Development Specialist

2022 Award Recipients

  • National Award Recipients
  • Regional Award Recipients
  • American Visions Nominees